Press Room

Welcome to Hanley Wood’s Press Room.

For media inquiries please contact John Crosby at jcrosby@hanleywood.com, 202-736-3424.

Bob Greer, Warren Burke, King-Garvey Win Big at the 2012 MULTIFAMILY EXECUTIVE Awards


Download PDF

Christine A. DeJoy
Hanley Wood
Managing Editor, MULTIFAMILY EXECUTIVE
cdejoy@hanleywood.com

WASHINGTON, D.C. (November 2, 2012) — MULTIFAMILY EXECUTIVE, the leading media brand in the multifamily housing industry, unveiled the winners of its annual MULTIFAMILY EXECUTIVE Awards at a special awards ceremony last month in Las Vegas.

Longtime industry veteran Robert (“Bob”) Greer, president of Marlton, N.J.–based Michaels Development Company, was named the 2012 Executive of the Year. Greer was one of two individuals honored among more than 30 awards presented at the event, which recognizes exceptional people, projects, and programs across 19 categories.

Greer was honored for a lifetime of achievement in the multifamily industry, most notably for his work in the affordable housing arena. He was a key force in building Michaels Development Company into the nation’s largest multifamily owner. But above and beyond that, Greer has developed more than 70 communities through the low-income housing tax credit (LIHTC) program and has collaborated with housing authorities in the revitalization of more than 20 public housing communities, including in Philadelphia, New Jersey, Chicago, and Los Angeles. Fittingly, he was inducted into MULTIFAMILY EXECUTIVE sister publication AFFORDABLE HOUSING FINANCE’s Affordable Housing Hall of Fame in 2010.

“Bob Greer is one of the giants of the affordable housing industry, a living legend, and yet at the core of his long list of achievements is a selflessness and humility that is truly inspiring,” said Jerry Ascierto, editor-in-chief of MULTIFAMILY EXECUTIVE. “This award is not just a recognition of all he’s done in his 40-year career, but for all he continues to do as an advocate on Capitol Hill for the LIHTC industry.”

Additionally, Warren Burke, vice president of development for Philadelphia-based Campus Apartments, was named MFE’s third-annual Rising Star of the Year, an award bestowed on an industry up-and-comer. Although already a 20-year veteran of the apartment sector, in just his fifth year with Campus Apartments, Burke has already helped steer the company to the top of the student housing world, leading the charge this year with more than $125 million in development volume.

The editors of MULTIFAMILY EXECUTIVE magazine also unveiled the sixth-annual Editors’ Choice Award, which recognizes a project that is “best in show.” That honor this year went to the Martin Luther King-Marcus Garvey Square Cooperative Apartments, a 211-unit, rehabilitated housing cooperative in San Francisco, developed by Related California. The Sec. 8 project also won a Grand Award for Apartment Renovation.

Other multiple winners were the Charlotte (N.C.) Housing Authority, KTGY Group, and Prometheus Real Estate Group.

This year’s winners were chosen by a group composed of the magazine’s editors and five industry judges: Rohit Anand, principal and head of East Coast operations, KTGY Group, in Vienna, Va.; Jim Butz, president and CEO, Jefferson Apartment Group, in McLean, Va.; Eileen Lee, vice president of energy and environmental policy at the National Multi Housing Council, in Washington, D.C.; Julie Smith, president of Bozzuto Management Co., in Greenbelt, Md.; and Christina Steeg, senior vice president of marketing and training at Simpson Property Group, in Denver.

“Our judges had an extremely difficult task this year. The quantity of nominations received—and there were more than 200 of them—reflect an industry that’s firing on all cylinders again,” Ascierto said. “But the quality of submissions made this an even more difficult process and proves that this industry is about so much more than bricks and sticks—it’s about passion and vision.”

For more information on Executive of the Year Bob Greer and Rising Star of the Year Warren Burke, please see the October 2012 issue of MULTIFAMILY EXECUTIVE, which is also available online at multifamilyexecutive.com. All other winners can be seen in the pages of the November 2012 issue of MFE. A complete list of winners from the 2012 MFE Awards appears below.

Special Recognitions and Individual Honors

Executive of the Year – Robert Greer, president, Michaels Development Company
For more information: Contact Laura Zaner at 856-988-5983 or lzaner@themichaelsorg.com

Rising Star of the Year – Warren Burke, vice president of development, Campus Apartments
For more information: Contact Meagan Sloan at 267-238-4172 or msloan@brownsteingroup.com

Editors’ Choice Award – Martin Luther King-Marcus Garvey Square Cooperative Apartments, San Francisco, Related California
For more information: Contact Bea Hsu at 949-660-7272 or bhsu@related.com

Grand Award Winners

Project of the Year: High-Rise – Highland Tower, Houston, Ziegler Cooper Architects
For more information: Contact Mary Katherine Ziegler at 713-374-0036 or mkziegler@zieglercooper.com

Project of the Year: Mid-Rise (7 to 11 stories) – La Terraza, Bronx, N.Y., CS Melrose Site B
For more information: Contact Tell Metzger at 212 233-0495, ext. 135, or tmetzger@lmdevpartners.com

Project of the Year: Mid-Rise Podium or Wrap (4 to 6 stories) – Fusion 1560, St. Petersburg, Fla., Humphreys & Partners Architects
For more information: Contact Kay Ahrens at 972-701-9636 or kay@humphreys.com

Project of the Year: Low-Rise Walk-Up (1 to 4 stories) – Faubourg Lafitte, New Orleans, L&M Development Partners, Enterprise Community Partners, and Providence Community Housing
For more information: Contact Jacob Pine at 212-233-0495 or jpine@lmdevpartners.com

Project of the Year: Adaptive Reuse – Foundry Lofts, Washington, D.C., Forest City Residential
For more information: Contact Joseph Szabo at 216-416-3133 or joeszabo@forestcity.net

Project of the Year: Affordable – St. Joseph’s Senior Apartments, Oakland, Calif., BRIDGE Housing Corporation
For more information: Contact Lyn Hikida at 415-321-3552 or lhikida@bridgehousing.com

Project of the Year: Apartment Renovation – Martin Luther King-Marcus Garvey Square Cooperative Apartments, San Francisco, Related California
For more information: Contact Bea Hsu at 949-660-7272 or bhsu@related.com

Project of the Year: Apartment Renovation – Charlottetown Terrace, Charlotte, N.C., Charlotte Housing Authority
For more information: Contact Gainor Eisenlohr at 704-353-0292 or geisenlohr@cha-nc.org

Project of the Year: Green – Charlottetown Terrace, Charlotte, N.C., Charlotte Housing Authority
For more information: Contact Gainor Eisenlohr at 704-353-0292 or geisenlohr@cha-nc.org

Project of the Year: Military – Fort Belvoir Residential Communities, Fairfax, Va., Clark Realty Capital
For more information: Contact Hallie Groff at 703-294-4500 or hallie.groff@clarkrealty.com

Project of the Year: Mixed-Income – Oliver Lofts, Boston, WinnDevelopment
For more information: Contact Elizabeth Fish at 617-239-4454 or efish@winnco.com

Project of the Year: Best Reuse of Land – Park Square, Rahway, N.J., Landmark Companies
For more information: Contact Joel Schwartz at 609-924-5527 or schwartz@landmarkcompanies.net

Project of the Year: Senior – Belovida at Newbury Park, San Jose, Calif., The Core Companies
For more information: Contact Janet Geracie at 408-292-7841 or jgeracie@thecorecompanies.com

Project of the Year: Student – Campus Circle Tallahassee, Tallahassee, Fla., The Bainbridge Companies and Bainbridge Campus Communities
For more information: Contact Jared Miller at 561-333-3669 or jmiller@bainbridgere.com

Community Service – Our Front POrCH (Promethean Outreach and Community Help), San Mateo, Calif., Prometheus Real Estate Group
For more information: Contact Chris Shaw at 650-931-3444 or cshaw@prometheusreg.com

Marketing and Advertising – Circle West Campus, Austin, Texas, Crescent Resources
For more information: Contact Susana Granda at 980-321-6243 or SRGranda@Crescent-Resources.com

Best Use of Technology – Riverstone Web Platform, Dallas, Riverstone Residential Group
For more information: Contact Katie Fleischer at 415-632-8149 or kfleischer@riverstoneres.com

Merit Award Winners

Project of the Year: Mid-Rise Podium or Wrap (4 to 6 stories) – Montgomery Heights, Newark, N.J., Pennrose Properties
For more information: Contact Jessica Krader at 267-386-8627 or jkrader@pennrose.com

Project of the Year: Low-Rise Walk-Up (1 to 4 stories) – Austin Ranch Phase V, The Colony, Texas, JHP Architecture/Urban Design
For more information: Contact Sara Phares at 214-363-5687 or sphares@jhparch.com

Project of the Year: Low-Rise Walk-Up (1 to 4 stories) – Fusion, Sunnyvale, Calif., KTGY Group
For more information: Contact Tiffany Brown at 949-851-2133 or tbrown@ktgy.com

Project of the Year: Adaptive Reuse – 220 Water, Brooklyn, N.Y., GDC Properties
For more information: Contact Richard DeMarco at 914-747-4000 or rdemarco@gdcproperties.com

Project of the Year: Affordable – Ramona Apartments, Portland, Ore., Turtle Island Development
For more information: Contact Lucy Corbett at 503-249-6560 or lucy@turtleislanddev.com

Project of the Year: Best Reuse of Land – FloCo Fusion, Minneapolis, BKV Group
For more information: Contact Karla Jordan at 612-373-9106 or kjordan@bkvgroup.com

Project of the Year: Best Reuse of Land – Trinity Commons, Durham, N.C., Housing Studio
For more information: Contact Charles Travis at 704-333-7862 or ctravis@housingstudio.com

Project of the Year: Green – Northwest Gardens, Fort Lauderdale, Fla., Carlisle Development Group and The Housing Authority of the City of Fort Lauderdale
For more information: Contact Melissa Brillhart at 305-357-4723 or mbrillhart@carlisledevelopmentgroup.com

Project of the Year: Green – Primera Terra, Playa Vista, Calif., KTGY Group
For more information: Contact Tiffany Brown at 949-851-2133 or tbrown@ktgy.com

Project of the Year: Mixed-Income – Ashley Auburn Pointe, Atlanta, Integral Development
For more information: Contact Rasheedah Oliver at 404-224-1863 or
roliver@integral-online.com

Project of the Year: Senior – Dana Strand Senior Apartments, Los Angeles, ROEM Development Corporation and the Housing Authority of the City of Los Angeles
For more information: Contact Erin Caputo at 408-984-5600, ext. 17, or ecaputo@roemcorp.com

Project of the Year: Student – Centennial Hall and Falcon Heights, Bowling Green, Ohio, Capstone Development Corporation
For more information: Contact Nicole Ivanovich at 205-949-5052 or
nivanovich@capstone-dev.com

Community Service – Post HOPE Foundation, Atlanta, Post Properties
For more information: Contact Terri Sherrod at 404.846.5063 or terri.sherrod@postproperties.com

Marketing and Advertising – Corporate Housing: Less Corporate, More Housing, San Mateo, Calif., Prometheus Real Estate Group
For more information: Contact Chris Shaw at 650-931-3444 or cshaw@prometheusreg.com

About Hanley Wood
Hanley Wood, LLC is the premier media, information and marketing services company serving the residential, commercial design and construction industries. Through its operating platforms, the company produces award-winning digital and print publications, e-Newsletters, websites, marquee trade shows and events, market intelligence data and custom marketing solutions. The company also is North America’s leading publisher of home plans.

Tags: , ,

< Back to Pressroom